logo for natural-cures-remedies.com
leftimage for natural-cures-remedies.com

Gluten Free Whole Grains


Gluten free whole grains can be enjoyed by people who may have an allergy to gluten.

Celiac Disease and Allergies

For the millions of Americans who can’t eat gluten – (a protein in wheat) and related grains such as barley, rye, spelt, kamut, and triticale – must choose their grains carefully. This group includes the nearly 3 million Americans with celiac disease – an autoimmune form of gluten intolerance – who must eat a gluten-free diet for life.

Other people may not have celiac disease, but may be allergic to wheat nonetheless, and must avoid all forms of wheat. A gluten-free diet is also sometimes recommended as part of the treatment for autistic children.
Which Grains are Gluten-Free?

It's important to note that gluten-intolerant people CAN eat whole grains. In fact, as you'll see from the list below, a large number of gluten-free grain choices are available.

Grains with Gluten

Wheat, including varieties like spelt, kamut, farro
and durum; and products like bulgur, semolina
Barley
Rye
Triticale

Oats**

**Oats are inherently gluten-free, but are frequently contaminated with wheat during growing or processing. Two companies (Cream Hill Estates and Gluten Free Oats) currently offer pure, uncontaminated oats. Ask your physician if these oats are acceptable for you. VisitGluten.net for a discussion on oats in the gluten-free diet.

Gluten FREE Grains

Amaranth
Buckwheat
Corn
Millet
Montina (Indian rice grass)
Quinoa
Rice
Sorghum
Teff
Wild Rice

Other Healthy Substitutes for Gluten Grains

Many creative recipes have been developed for gluten-intolerant people, using the gluten-free grains above along with foods like nuts, arrowroot, beans, chestnuts, mesquite, potato, soy, and tapioca, all of which are gluten-free. Some of these ingredients make deliciously healthy breakfast cereals and side dishes, while others are ground into flours for flavorful baked goods such as pizza, desserts, and breads.

For gluten-free baking tips, visit The Savory Palate.
For more information on foods that are acceptable for the gluten-free diet, see the Quick Start Diet Guide at Gluten.net. It was jointly developed by the Gluten Intolerance Group of North America (GIG®) and the Celiac Disease Foundation.

Where to Buy Gluten-Free Ingredients

There are nearly 190 companies world-wide that provide over 2600 gluten-free foods and ingredients; many can be found at natural food stores. Some grocery stores carry gluten-free goods.
 


Hidden Sources of Gluten

Gluten hides in many unsuspecting places such as candy, sauces, and malt flavoring. Other ingredients appear suspicious, but may be safe. To learn more, visit Gluten Free Living. If in doubt about a particular food, ask the manufacturer about the ingredients and the standards they use to assure your safety.

What Does the Label Say?

Reading labels is very important. The Food Allergen Labeling and Consumer Protection Act mandates that labels on foods manufactured after January, 2006, will list the word “wheat” to indicate the presence of wheat.

But the label doesn’t have to list other gluten-containing grains such as barley, rye, spelt, kamut, or triticale. The definition and requirements for gluten-free labeling are scheduled to be decided by the Food and Drug Administration by 2008.




Whole Grains
Whole Grains, Their Benefits And Health Bonuses

Fruits And Vegetables
The Health Benefits Of Fruits And Vegetables Is Wide Ranging

Legumes
Beans, Peas and Lentils Too!

Nuts and Seeds
Have Many Health Benefits And Healing Properties

 


footer for natural cures page